Emergency Medical Technician Levels

Becoming an operational member of PVRS means taking your first steps toward becoming an Emergency Medical Technician. There are three levels of EMT certification in the Commonwealth of Virginia, and an additional certification for non-EMS providers. PVRS members practice at all three levels.

These levels of training are:

  • EMT - (BLS level)
  • EMT - Advanced (ALS Level)
  • EMT - Paramedic (Advanced ALS Level)